I locked myself and Andrew in the bathroom - without the doorknob on the door.
Let me go back to Thanksgiving Day... We'd been having trouble with the master baths doorknob sticking a lot recently. On Thanksgiving we had some friends over and the girls were upstairs playing and came down at one point saying that they'd been locked in our bathroom (OK, you have to NOT ask why they were in our bathroom which is off limits, just never mind that) Apparently they were yelling and screaming for someone to come, but no one did. We told them we'd been having trouble with it sticking.
On Saturday night when Andrew was having his bath in our bathroom, I decided I'd take off the doorknob which I did. Then because the door is uneven or whatnot, it doesn't stay closed by itself. I got the "wise" idea of putting the little latch bit in without the knobs on. It would keep the door closed. IT WORKED!!!
BUT...
How to get out? Without the knob on the door there is NO WAY to get the door open! Even with the knobs sticking it was better than this! I'm stuck in the bathroom with Andrew having fun in the bathtub.
I hope you are laughing at this point.
I wasn't sure whether to laugh or cry.
After fiddling with the latch a few minutes in was V. obvious that I was going to have to take the door off its hinges. Something I'd never done before. I thought of my ingenious friend Susie who can do anything like this. I knew she'd taken doors off before. Maybe Dom should call her and ask...
Well, before doing that, let's see if I can figure out how to do it myself. Dom got a flat headed screwdriver (which of course wasn't the one I had with me since the doorknob needed the Phelps) and a wrench. I couldn't wedge the screwdriver between the the hinge and the pin. I tried to use the wrench to pull it up. Neither worked, but praise God, I used the wrench as a hammer and stuck the end of the screwdriver under the pin in the hinge and hit the other end.
BINGO! I was out in a minute.
But boy that was one of the dumbest things I've done in a while...well, if you don't count trying to argue with a four year old on occasion...
No comments:
Post a Comment